iTEC partners and Eurocontrol to jointly develop interoperability capabilities essential for a single european sky

The founding members of the iTEC Collaboration and the EUROCONTROL Maastricht Upper Area Control Centre (MUAC) will jointly develop the Interoperability (IOP) components that support SWIM like exchanges of flight trajectory information.

These IOP components are essential SESAR Air Traffic Management functionalities that will be deployed in accordance with the European ATM Master Plan.

Madrid, 7 March 2018 - EUROCONTROL, the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation, through its Maastricht Upper Area Control Centre (MUAC), and the Founding Members of the iTEC Collaboration, some of Europe’s largest ANSP’s, today (Weds 7th March) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to jointly develop components that will enable interoperability between their respective Air Traffic Management systems and help deliver a Single European Sky.

The MoU will see the two organisations jointly develop the Flight Object Manager (FOM) and the System Wide Information Management (SWIM) Node that will underpin the future exchange of flight trajectory data.

Sharing of this data is essential to deliver the SESAR concept of operations outlined in the European ATM Master plan and meet the growing demand for air travel in Europe in a safe and efficient way.

The European Commission’s Pilot Common Project legislation, which outlines core functionalities required to be implemented by law as part of plans to modernise Europe’s air traffic management system, includes a requirement to share flight trajectories between Air Navigation Service Providers and the Network Manager by 2025. The Flight Object Manager (FOM) and the System Wide Information Management (SWIM) components that will be jointly developed as a result of this MoU will enable that to happen.

The SESAR IOP operational concepts are being validated in SESAR projects thanks to the collaboration between European Air Navigation Service Providers and Industry.

The outcome of these validations will be incorporated into the Standards being developed by EUROCAE, the European Organisation fo Civil Aviation Equipment, which forms the basis of Industrialisation Projects that will lead to the deployment of the Flight Object Interoperability concept.  

Enrique Maurer, Chair of the iTEC Board/Steering Group, said: “This Memorandum of Understanding reflects the full commitment of the iTEC Alliance to ensuring interoperability, a key component of the Single European Sky and the European ATM Masterplan. We look forward to working with EUROCONTROL on this important initiative.”

John Santurbano, Director of EUROCONTROL MUAC, concluded: “Improving the performance of the European ATM system together with our stakeholders is our priority. With this cooperative venture, EUROCONTROL and the members of iTEC will actively develop the much-needed interoperability that will help us all cope efficiently with growing traffic demand”.

Notes to editors

The Founding Members of the iTEC Alliance are DFS of Germany, Enaire of Spain and NATS of the UK. Other members of the iTEC Alliance are Avinor of Norway, LVNL of the Netherlands, PANSA of Poland and Oro Navigacjia of Lithuania.

EUROCONTROL is an intergovernmental organisation with 41 Member States. Operated by EUROCONTROL on behalf of four States, EUROCONTROL’s Maastricht Upper Area Control Centre (MUAC) provides cross-border air traffic control for the upper airspace of Belgium, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and north-west Germany. Some 1.9 million flights pass through MUAC’s area of responsibility each year, making it the third busiest air traffic control facility in Europe in terms of traffic volume. During the summer, peak days see close to 5,700 flights.

More information via the websites:

For any individual media enquiries please contact the following:

DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung
Andrea Schäfer, E-mail: / Phone: 0049 6103 707 4112
Nanda Geelvink, E-mail: / Phone: 00 49 6103 707 4164

Begoña Andres Martin, E-mail: / Phone: 00 34 912 967 501

Jevon Snell, E-mail: / Phone: 00 44 7920 466755

Maj-Britt van Raalte, E-mail: / Phone: 00 31 6 51 99 34 14

Kristian Løksa, Email: / Phone: 00 47 93452603

Julija ČIŽIENĖ, E-Mail: / phone: 00 370 706 94 736

Agnieszka Byrt, E-mail: / Phone: 00 32 471 57 10 92
Kyla Evans, E-mail: / Phone: 00 32 498 940 290